Error message

  • The file could not be created.
  • The file could not be created.
  • The file could not be created.

Green group calls for immediate enforcement of suspension, closure orders on 26 large-scale mines


02 February 2017


Green group calls for immediate enforcement of suspension, closure orders on 26 large-scale mines


Environmental activist group Kalikasan People’s Network for the Environment (Kalikasan PNE) praised the breaking announcement of Environment Secretary Gina Lopez ordering the closure of 21 large-scale mining operations and the suspension of an additional five more mines.


“This is a significant victory for the long-standing people’s struggles against destructive large-scale mining and a job well done for Sec. Lopez. We urge all relevant government agencies to immediately enforce the closure and suspension of all 26 mining companies, as the affected communities have been clamouring for expedite since the announcement of the mining audit’s initial results last September,” said Clemente Bautista, national coordinator of Kalikasan PNE.


Sec. Lopez’s announcement was the culmination of the DENR’s mining audit covering all 40 operating large-scale mines in the Philippines. Initial results announced by Sec. Lopez back in September 2016 showed that there are 10 mines upheld for suspension and some 20 more recommended for suspension.


“Sec. Lopez should compel all the erring mining companies to compensate for the full rehabilitation of the degraded watersheds, agricultural lands, and other ecosystems. The compensation should unconditionally go to the DENR’s plan to engage communities in an ‘area development approach’ in restoring and redeveloping the sites that will be vacated by the mines,” said Bautista.


The large-scale mines ordered for closure include:


1.    BenguetCorp Nickel Mines Incorporated

2.    Eramen Minerals Incorporated

3.    LNL Archipelago Minerals Incorporated

4.    Zambales Diversified Metals Corporation

5.    Mt Sinai Mining Exploration and Development Corporation

6.    Emir Minerals Corporation

7.    Techiron Mineral Resources Incorporated

8.    AAMPHIL Natural Resources Exploration

9.    Krominco, Incorporated

10.  Oriental Vision Mining Philippines Corporation

11.  Libjo Mining Corporation

12.  Adnama Mining Resources, Incorporated

13.  Platinum Group Metals Corporation

14.  Claver Mineral Development Corporation

15.  Hinatuan Mining Corporation

16.  Sinosteel PH

17.  Wellex Mining

18.   Oriental Synergy

19.  CTP Construction and Mining

20.  Carrascal Nickel

21.  Marcventures


Meanwhile, the five mines suspended were:


1.    OceanaGold Phils Incorporated

2.    Lepanto Consolidated

3.    Citinickel Mines and Development

4.    Berong Nickel Corporation

5.    Ore Asia Mining and Development


“All affected communities hosting these mines up for closure or suspension must remain vigilant as we expect resistance from the mining companies and the bureaucrats in their fold. Sec. Lopez should strengthen her cooperation with grassroots communities and social movements in working towards the closure of all these erring mines,” ended Bautista.#